Exciting News! πŸ“ΈπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ“Έ

We are thrilled to announce that the Blackwater Photographic Society Photographer of the Year Awards πŸ† was held on Monday night and was an incredible success! We had an amazing panel of judges, Mike Brown, John Hickey, and Michael Strapec, who were all absolutely fantastic and highly professional. A big thank you to these talented individuals for their invaluable expertise and time.

We would also like to extend our gratitude to all the members who participated in the competition and made it such a memorable event. Your creativity and dedication truly shone through!

Special thanks to Paul Madigan, John Brennan, Kieran O’Mahony, Julie, and John Mullane for their assistance on the night. Your support was instrumental in making the event run smoothly. Thank you!

Now, let’s congratulate our exceptional winners! In the Non-Advanced category, we have Sandra Sheehan in 3rd place πŸ₯‰, Donna Owens in 2nd Place πŸ₯ˆ, and Wendy White taking home the 1st place prize πŸ₯‡!

In the Advanced category, Valerie WalshΒ  secured the 3rd place πŸ₯‰, Paul Madigan for his 2nd Place πŸ₯ˆ finish, and our 1st place winner πŸ₯‡, Kieran O’Mahony!

But that’s not all 😜! Kieran O’Mahony also triumphed as the Best Monochrome Photographer and received the honor of having the overall best scoring image. What an incredible achievement! πŸ₯‡πŸ₯‡

This year, we introduced a new award, the “Judges Choice award,” and we are thrilled to announce the winners. Caroline Muller was selected by John Hickey πŸ…, Kieran O’Mahony was chosen by Mike Brown πŸŽ–οΈ , and Paul Madigan was honored by Michael Strapec πŸ…. Congratulations to these deserving recipients!

We have attached some of the mesmerizing images captured on that great night. Take a moment to appreciate the remarkable talent displayed by our members.

Once again, a massive congratulations to everyone involved in the Blackwater Photographic Society Photographer of the Year Awards. πŸ‘πŸ‘

#PhotographerOfTheYear #BlackwaterPhotographicSociety #Congratulations


The Blackwater Photographic Society annual Photography exhibition started today April 5th and runs up to April 26th at Mallow Library. Well worth a visit if you are able to pop in πŸ“Έ

Book from David Attenboroughs BBC’s Series to feature images by Paul Madigan

A massive congratulations to Blackwater Photographic Society member Paul Madigan who’s images will appear in the book accompanying David Attenborough new BBC series “Wild Isles” which premieres on television in early March.

Not only are Paul’s images included in the book itself,  his image from Lady’s view In Killarney is also featured as the cover image.
The series will show some incredible footage from Killarney National Park during the Red Deer rut.
Be sure to check out the TV series and of course pick up a book.
Well done Paul

2022 Blackwater photographer of the year

The 2022 Blackwater Photographic Society Photographer of the Year competition took place last Monday night and some fantastic images were on display.

The Advanced overall Photographer of the Year was won by Kieran O Mahony with Paul Madigan in second position and John Flynn taking third place.

Angela Copps took the Non Advanced photographer of the year, followed by Gearldine Dennehy in second position and Billy Cashman taking third place

The 2020 best image was yet again another close one with 4 images finishing with perfect scores ( Paul Madigan Meadow Pipit Chorus,  Kieran O Mahony with 2 top scoring images Bokeh Stonechat and Singing Wren. John Flynn with Feeding Stonechats but after some deliberations from our Judges the awarded image of the year was snapped up by John Flynn.

The Black and white photographer of the year was also won by Paul Madigan.

Thanks very much to our judges on the night, Seamus Mulcahy (Blarney Camera Club), Vivien Buckley and Jim McSweeney both members of Mallow Camera club who did a fantastic job on the night and gave excellent critique on some of the images.
Thanks too to Kieran, John, Donna and Julie for all their help on the night making sure everything ran effortlessly.


1st   Kieran O Mahony
2nd  Paul Madigan
3rd  John Flynn

1st  Angela Copps
2nd Geraldine Dennehy
3rd  Billy Cashman

John Flynn

Paul Madigan

Overall photographer of the year – Kieran O Mahony
Best image of the year – John Flynn
Best Black and white photographer of the year – Paul Madigan
1st Advanced- Kieran O Mahony
2nd- Advanced – Paul Madigan
3rd Advanced – John Flynn
1st Non Advanced – Angela Copps
2nd Non Advanced – Geraldine Dennehy

3rd Non Advanced – Billy Cashman

IPF National Success

Some more impressive results from the IPF National club competition. The club again finished an impressive 3rd place overall with our color panel.

Yet again there was also some fabulous individual results with Paul Madigan picking up the Gold medal for the best color image and Kieran O Mahony recieving an honorable mention also for a color image.

Club success at SACC Interclub

There was some fantastic results from this year’s SACC INTERCLUB competition. The club finished in 3rd place with the Color panel and also finished in 3rd place overall behind Limerick and winners Blarney cc

There was also some fabulous individual results for Kieran O Mahony who won both the best overall Color image as well as best overall Mono image in the competition.

2022 BPS color panel
2022 BPS Mono Panel
Kieran O Mahony 2022 SACC Best color image
Kieran O Mahony 2022 SACC Best mono image

National shield success for Geraldine & Angela

Blackwater Photographic Society came 3rd in Mono at the IPF National Shield today. IPF Silver πŸ₯ˆ for Geraldine Dennehy in Mono, IPF Silver πŸ₯ˆ for Angela Copps in Colour
Congrats to you both great achievement. We would also like to congratulate all other winners and neighbours Mallow Camera Club who were 3rd overall along with Catchlight Camera Club the overall winners.


This morning Blackwater Photographic Society presented €200 to Mallow Meals on wheels from images sold during our display at Herlihys Centra, Mallow as part of this years Mallow Arts Festival.

Richard Dempsey BPS Secretary is pictured here presenting Mallow Meals on Wheels Chairman Eamonn Winters and staff with the money.

Thanks to everyone for all their support.

Themed competition winners

Congratulations to the winners of our latest club competition held in house. Thanks to all Members who entered and also a huge thank you to our own advanced member and Judge @Pakie O Donoghue


1ST: Finbarr Murphy

2ND: Sinead Salter

3RD: Paul Madigan


1ST Richard Dempsey

2ND Paddy McAuliffe

3RD Colm Doyle

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑